More about me

More about me

Before I start writing about other people I thought it’s a nice idea to write a little bit more about myself. I know, you may be thinking that I am trying to glorify myself….. then so be it. I don’t mind 🙂

This is what my Orkut profile states and this was more apt in the earlier days of my career – I though it’s worth a mention here


Well… dinner in Bangalore, Lunch in Bangkok, coffee break in Taipei evening snacks in Seoul , supper in Ulsan … but yelle hodru… namma Mysoreeee great!!! sounds like some movie??? Well not too much…. I have done this several times by now. And got used to the changing place around me…… I sometimes feel that I am not going places… but the places are going around me… and I am playing musical chair with the world as the playground… and then… when I am at sea… for days together … nothing moves…. Water everywhere…. However fast you go …. There is nothing around… that’s when I realized that really a significant part of our earth is covered by water… and the amount of water…. You will only realize when you are in the middle of an ocean on a ship with nothing around you…

yes I always wanted to travel… seeing different places is everyone’s dream… Its been reality to me….. and I really don’t know whom to thank for this… is it just co- incidence.. is it just good luck? Is it bad luck?? Whatever it is… I am sure it is not hard work!!!! Ha ha.. u guys know what I am talking about.

Yes I have been one hell of a lucky guy… keep wondering if I should change my name to that … “Lucky” sounds a bit girlish tough…. .

Seeing many different parts of the world… I feel that we being Indians are biased about our self our country and our hometown. Not that I am criticizing that… but… I feel we have a lot to learn from outside… and try devote our lives to a purpose that will set an example for others back home. I have been looking for this purpose in life… and I know as long as we don’t change our way of thinking we cannot change our lifestyle. I have started to think big… and want to do something big…after all size does matter… (a cliché eh!)

Nothing is of too much interest in life these days when compared to “thinking” or is it day dreaming? Or is it imagination at work? Whatever you may call that… hope it turns out into an Idea, a vision some day… hope that day will come soon… ‘cos time is running faster than ever…. and the world is getting faster every moment…

I wrote the above when I used to travel a lot due to work outside India. Priorities seem to have changed these days, I do continue to enjoy travel, and however, I tend to devote more time to family and my camera than ever before.

When I say family I definitely want to boast about the kind and size of family I come from. My grandfather Hosamane Patel Devappa Hegde (Ajja) was a landlord and ruled thousands of acres of land in Sorab taluk, Shimoga district. I have always envied my grandfather’s lifestyle. My Ajja lived like a king and people often respect him for his humble nature. A snapshot at my family tree is worth a look. 20+ uncles and aunts 40+ first cousins… so if there is a family function you can guess how big it is.

Mahesh Hegde Family Tree

Right from my formative days I have had a keen interest in Technology in form of toys, gadgets, cars, machines. This interest in me probably drove me to start a part time computer assembling business when I was in my pre-university days. It ran pretty well until the “Cheaters” took over. I call the computer vendors who sell at rock bottom prices by cheating their suppliers as “Cheaters”. Since I was not inclined to be a Cheater myself I had to stop this business although I made handful of money from it enough to afford a mobile phone when the call rates were like INR 4-5 for 1 min of incoming call and about INR 8-9 for a min of outgoing. I remember those days when if the landline at home rang once they used to call my cell phone and when it rang twice they used to call my dad’s cell phone. This was to save on the cell phone charges. Also, I used the profit from the computer assembling business to buy a computer for myself, fuel for my first car (a Maruti 800) and all other miscellaneous expenses during college.

My first camera I remember was a point and shoot film camera from Yashica. In the early 90’s a Yashica camera was like a luxury gadget which only people who had relatives abroad could get. If you bought one in India it was considered as duplicate! Those were the days before India’s Globalization. My first digital camera was a Canon A510 point and shoot which some people still use today. I gave away this camera to my relative who still uses this for his “studio” photography in  a remote village near Sagar, Shimoga. Then came the Canon IXUS 70 à Sony Alpha 100 à Sony Alpha 230 and now a Nikon D5000. I will share my reviews of each one of these cameras in a separate blog.

You might be wondering why am I talking about my camera in a blog about myself. Well, I just have to say “I am incomplete without a camera”

As I stated to build my own website with a blog, my passion for technology continues. This was a pretty easy task when compared to complete automatic machines which I have built with sparing support from others. I was just chatting with my friend Subbu and asking him what it takes to have a website of my own with some galleries and a blog. Subbu gave me good links and I just started working on the website. It took me about a week to create a complete website and about a month to fill up the initial content.

For now I feel that’s all I have to say, keep watching for my latest blogs and photos.

One thought on “More about me”

  1. I am really really impressed by the words and offcourse your idea of creation of this website….
    I was browsing thru these pages today to refresh myself after lunch u knw its sleepy specially friday afternoons…. 🙂 n i must say……hats off….
    Keep writing….keep adding …..keep bloging…..

Leave a Reply

